Skip to content
TryHired.
Real estate license · Wisconsin

Wisconsin real estate license: the official requirements

Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.

Updated Nov 6, 2026 · Requirements: each state's real estate licensing authority or its statute
Quick answer

To get a real estate license in Wisconsin (the salesperson license): Pre-licensing education: The Board-approved 72-hour salesperson pre-license program, within 4 years before you apply (or 10 semester-hour credits in real estate or real estate-related law). Licensing exam: The Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson exam, scheduled with Pearson; only the state exam is required, and scores are valid for 1 year. Your licensing authority is the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.

Requirements

Requirements for the Wisconsin salesperson license

Data
Wisconsin real estate license requirements (Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services)
RequirementWisconsin
Minimum ageNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
Pre-licensing educationThe Board-approved 72-hour salesperson pre-license program, within 4 years before you apply (or 10 semester-hour credits in real estate or real estate-related law).
Post-licensing educationNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
Licensing examThe Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson exam, scheduled with Pearson; only the state exam is required, and scores are valid for 1 year.
Background checkYou disclose any conviction record on your application, and convictions and pending charges are reviewed as part of the application; applicants with convictions may first ask for an optional predetermination in LicensE.
Sponsoring brokerNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
State feesNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
License termNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
Continuing education18 hours per renewal: 12 hours of mandatory content and 6 elective hours, in courses preapproved by the Real Estate Examining Board.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.

Steps

How to get licensed in Wisconsin

Data
  1. Complete the 72-hour salesperson pre-license course with a Board-approved provider.
  2. Schedule and pass the Wisconsin salesperson exam with Pearson.
  3. Apply in LicensE, uploading your Pearson exam certificate and course certificate, and pay the fees.
  4. Optionally, associate with a Wisconsin firm during the application using Form 812.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I get a real estate license in Wisconsin?
To get a real estate license in Wisconsin (the salesperson license): Pre-licensing education: The Board-approved 72-hour salesperson pre-license program, within 4 years before you apply (or 10 semester-hour credits in real estate or real estate-related law). Licensing exam: The Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson exam, scheduled with Pearson; only the state exam is required, and scores are valid for 1 year. Your licensing authority is the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Wisconsin require?
The Board-approved 72-hour salesperson pre-license program, within 4 years before you apply (or 10 semester-hour credits in real estate or real estate-related law).
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Wisconsin?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
How long is a Wisconsin real estate license good for?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
How much does a Wisconsin real estate license cost?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
Method

How this page is built

Each fact on this page comes from the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services, read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
  • Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
  • This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
Sources
  1. Wisconsin DSPS, Real Estate Salesperson (RES), official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. Wisconsin DSPS, Real Estate Salesperson: Licensure by Examination, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.