Skip to content
TryHired.
Real estate license · Virginia

Virginia real estate license: the official requirements

Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Virginia Administrative Code (18VAC135-20) and Code of Virginia 54.1-2105 (Virginia General Assembly) (the state's own statute and rules).

Updated Nov 6, 2026 · Requirements: each state's real estate licensing authority or its statute
Quick answer

To get a real estate license in Virginia (the salesperson license): Minimum age: At least 18, with a high school diploma or equivalent. Pre-licensing education: A principles of real estate course of at least 60 hours (or at least four semester hours of academic credit), passed before you sit for the exam. Licensing exam: A written examination by the Board or its testing service, passed within 12 months before you submit a complete application. Your licensing authority is the Virginia Real Estate Board.

Requirements

Requirements for the Virginia salesperson license

Data
Virginia real estate license requirements (Virginia Real Estate Board)
RequirementVirginia
Minimum ageAt least 18, with a high school diploma or equivalent.
Pre-licensing educationA principles of real estate course of at least 60 hours (or at least four semester hours of academic credit), passed before you sit for the exam.
Post-licensing education30 hours of post-license education within the first year of licensure (including 6 hours of contract writing and 6 of real estate law), or the license goes inactive.
Licensing examA written examination by the Board or its testing service, passed within 12 months before you submit a complete application.
Background checkFingerprinting, with disclosure of felony convictions and certain misdemeanor convictions within five years.
Sponsoring brokerNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Virginia Real Estate Board.
State fees$230 with the initial application ($210 plus the $20 recovery fund assessment); $100 renewal (fee schedule effective April 1, 2026).
License termNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Virginia Real Estate Board.
Continuing education16 hours each licensing term for active salespersons after the first renewal, 11 of them in fair housing, ethics, agency, contracts and legal updates.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.

Steps

How to get licensed in Virginia

Data
  1. Complete the 60-hour principles of real estate course and pass it.
  2. Pass the written licensing examination.
  3. Within 12 months of the exam, submit a complete application with fingerprints, the required disclosures and the $230 fee.
  4. Complete 30 hours of post-license education in your first year.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I get a real estate license in Virginia?
To get a real estate license in Virginia (the salesperson license): Minimum age: At least 18, with a high school diploma or equivalent. Pre-licensing education: A principles of real estate course of at least 60 hours (or at least four semester hours of academic credit), passed before you sit for the exam. Licensing exam: A written examination by the Board or its testing service, passed within 12 months before you submit a complete application. Your licensing authority is the Virginia Real Estate Board.
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Virginia require?
A principles of real estate course of at least 60 hours (or at least four semester hours of academic credit), passed before you sit for the exam.
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Virginia?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Virginia Real Estate Board.
How long is a Virginia real estate license good for?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Virginia Real Estate Board.
How much does a Virginia real estate license cost?
$230 with the initial application ($210 plus the $20 recovery fund assessment); $100 renewal (fee schedule effective April 1, 2026). Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
Method

How this page is built

Each fact on this page comes from the Virginia Administrative Code (18VAC135-20) and Code of Virginia 54.1-2105 (Virginia General Assembly) (sources named below), read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Virginia Real Estate Board's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
  • Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
  • This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
Sources
  1. Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC135-20-30, Qualifications for individual licensure, Virginia General Assembly, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC135-20-35, Additional qualifications for individual licensure (eff. April 1, 2026), Virginia General Assembly, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  3. Code of Virginia 54.1-2105, educational and experience requirements for licensure, Virginia General Assembly, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  4. Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC135-20-15, Fee schedule (eff. April 1, 2026), Virginia General Assembly, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  5. Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC135-20-95, Post-license education requirements for salespersons (eff. April 1, 2026), Virginia General Assembly, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  6. Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC135-20-101, Qualification for renewal; continuing education requirements, Virginia General Assembly, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.