Tennessee real estate license: the official requirements
Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.
To get a real estate license in Tennessee (the affiliate broker license): Pre-licensing education: 60 hours of real estate principles/fundamentals before the exam, plus the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates before the license is issued; proof of high school graduation goes with the application. Licensing exam: The PSI exam for the Commission, with National and State sections; if you fail one section you retake only that one. Sponsoring broker: Your principal broker signs your PSI examination application; if you have no firm to affiliate with yet, you can apply as an Initial Retired Affiliate. Your licensing authority is the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.
Requirements for the Tennessee affiliate broker license
| Requirement | Tennessee |
|---|---|
| License you apply for | The Tennessee affiliate broker license. |
| E&O insurance | Proof of an errors and omissions insurance policy goes with your application. |
| Minimum age | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. |
| Pre-licensing education | 60 hours of real estate principles/fundamentals before the exam, plus the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates before the license is issued; proof of high school graduation goes with the application. |
| Post-licensing education | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. |
| Licensing exam | The PSI exam for the Commission, with National and State sections; if you fail one section you retake only that one. |
| Background check | Electronic fingerprints (IdentoGO for Tennessee residents), processed by the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation and the FBI; the receipt goes with your application. |
| Sponsoring broker | Your principal broker signs your PSI examination application; if you have no firm to affiliate with yet, you can apply as an Initial Retired Affiliate. |
| State fees | $91 application fee. |
| License term | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. |
| Continuing education | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. |
Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
How to get licensed in Tennessee
- Complete the 60-hour prelicense course; the school sends proof to PSI so you can register for the exam.
- Pass both sections of the PSI exam; your principal broker signs the examination application.
- Complete the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates.
- Get electronic fingerprints and keep the receipt.
- Apply online at core.tn.gov within 1 year of passing your first exam, with your course certificates, E&O proof, high school proof and the $91 fee.
Go further
Requirements state by state.
Open →CareerHow to become a real estate agentThe career path, nationally.
Open →PayReal estate agent salary in TennesseeWhat agents earn there.
Open →CareerReal estate agent career guideThe job, skills and outlook.
Open →CareerReal estate brokerThe next license up.
Open →CompareAgent vs brokerHow the two roles differ.
Open →Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.
Questions people ask
How do I get a real estate license in Tennessee?
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Tennessee require?
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Tennessee?
How long is a Tennessee real estate license good for?
How much does a Tennessee real estate license cost?
How this page is built
Each fact on this page comes from the Tennessee Real Estate Commission, read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Tennessee Real Estate Commission's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).
- Not legal advice.
- Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
- Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
- This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
- Tennessee Real Estate Commission, Affiliate Broker Licensure, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
- Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Pre-Licensing Requirements & Exam FAQs (last updated November 1, 2026), official source, read Nov 5, 2026.