Oregon real estate license: the official requirements
Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Oregon Real Estate Agency.
To get a real estate license in Oregon (the broker license): Minimum age: 18, with a high school diploma, GED or international equivalent. Pre-licensing education: 150 hours of broker pre-license education from an Agency-approved school, completed on or after January 1, 2013. Licensing exam: Both sections of the broker license exam, given by PSI; scores are good for one year. Sponsoring broker: A broker works while associated with and supervised by a managing principal broker, who adds your pending license to the business. Your licensing authority is the Oregon Real Estate Agency.
Requirements for the Oregon broker license
| Requirement | Oregon |
|---|---|
| License you apply for | The broker license, Oregon's entry-level license. |
| Minimum age | 18, with a high school diploma, GED or international equivalent. |
| Pre-licensing education | 150 hours of broker pre-license education from an Agency-approved school, completed on or after January 1, 2013. |
| Post-licensing education | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Oregon Real Estate Agency. |
| Licensing exam | Both sections of the broker license exam, given by PSI; scores are good for one year. |
| Background check | A criminal records background check with fingerprints, taken digitally through PSI and processed by the Oregon State Police and the FBI. |
| Sponsoring broker | A broker works while associated with and supervised by a managing principal broker, who adds your pending license to the business. |
| State fees | $300 nonrefundable application fee. The fingerprint fee is paid to PSI and is not included. |
| License term | Your first license period runs 13 to 24 months (it ends in your birth month); later periods are 24 months. |
| Continuing education | Held: the Agency says licensees renewing on or after January 1, 2026 have new continuing education requirements, which we have not read yet. Check with the Oregon Real Estate Agency. |
Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
How to get licensed in Oregon
- Register for an eLicense account.
- Apply for a broker license and pay the $300 application fee in eLicense; you receive an Applicant ID by email.
- Complete the 150-hour pre-license course; give the school your Applicant ID so it can make you eligible for the exam.
- Schedule, pay for and pass both sections of the PSI broker exam.
- Get fingerprinted for the background check at the PSI test center.
- Your managing principal broker adds your pending license, and the Agency issues the license after its final review.
Go further
Requirements state by state.
Open →CareerHow to become a real estate agentThe career path, nationally.
Open →PayReal estate agent salary in OregonWhat agents earn there.
Open →CareerReal estate agent career guideThe job, skills and outlook.
Open →CareerReal estate brokerThe next license up.
Open →CompareAgent vs brokerHow the two roles differ.
Open →Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.
Questions people ask
How do I get a real estate license in Oregon?
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Oregon require?
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Oregon?
How long is a Oregon real estate license good for?
How much does a Oregon real estate license cost?
How this page is built
Each fact on this page comes from the Oregon Real Estate Agency, read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Oregon Real Estate Agency's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).
- Not legal advice.
- Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
- Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
- This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
- Oregon Real Estate Agency, Broker Licensing, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
- Oregon Real Estate Agency, Background Check and Fingerprinting, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
- Oregon Real Estate Agency, Stay Current, Stay Active: Continuing Education (June 2025, editor's note 10/24/2025), official source, read Nov 5, 2026.