Skip to content
TryHired.
Real estate license · Oklahoma

Oklahoma real estate license: the official requirements

Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.

Updated Nov 6, 2026 · Requirements: each state's real estate licensing authority or its statute
Quick answer

To get a real estate license in Oklahoma (the provisional sales associate license): Minimum age: 18 or older. Pre-licensing education: 90 clock hours of basic real estate instruction in a Commission-approved course, valid for three years from completion. Licensing exam: The PSI exam once your application is approved; 70% or more passes, and a pass is valid for one year. Your licensing authority is the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.

Requirements

Requirements for the Oklahoma provisional sales associate license

Data
Oklahoma real estate license requirements (Oklahoma Real Estate Commission)
RequirementOklahoma
License you apply forThe provisional sales associate license, for applicants who have not held an active real estate license in the past five years.
Minimum age18 or older.
Pre-licensing education90 clock hours of basic real estate instruction in a Commission-approved course, valid for three years from completion.
Post-licensing education45 clock hours of post-license education before your provisional license first expires; otherwise it cannot be renewed.
Licensing examThe PSI exam once your application is approved; 70% or more passes, and a pass is valid for one year.
Background checkA background check through IdentoGO (live scan).
Sponsoring brokerNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
State feesNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
License termTwelve months for the provisional license; other licenses are issued for 36 months.
Continuing educationNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.

Steps

How to get licensed in Oklahoma

Data
  1. Complete a 90-hour pre-license salesperson course.
  2. Apply online for a provisional sales associate license, with your course certificate and proof of citizenship.
  3. Complete a background check through IdentoGO.
  4. Once approved, schedule and pass the exam with PSI; the application is valid for one year.
  5. Within 48 hours of passing, OREC emails you to issue your license online.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I get a real estate license in Oklahoma?
To get a real estate license in Oklahoma (the provisional sales associate license): Minimum age: 18 or older. Pre-licensing education: 90 clock hours of basic real estate instruction in a Commission-approved course, valid for three years from completion. Licensing exam: The PSI exam once your application is approved; 70% or more passes, and a pass is valid for one year. Your licensing authority is the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Oklahoma require?
90 clock hours of basic real estate instruction in a Commission-approved course, valid for three years from completion.
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Oklahoma?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
How long is a Oklahoma real estate license good for?
Twelve months for the provisional license; other licenses are issued for 36 months.
How much does a Oklahoma real estate license cost?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Method

How this page is built

Each fact on this page comes from the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (sources named below), read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
  • Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
  • This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
Sources
  1. Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, Application Process for Provisional Sales Associate, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, Oklahoma Real Estate License Code and Rules (as of November 1, 2025), official source, read Nov 5, 2026.