Skip to content
TryHired.
Real estate license · Missouri

Missouri real estate license: the official requirements

Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

Updated Nov 6, 2026 · Requirements: each state's real estate licensing authority or its statute
Quick answer

To get a real estate license in Missouri (the salesperson license): Minimum age: At least 18. Pre-licensing education: 72 hours in all: the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course (finished on or before the exam date) and the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice course (MREP), taken after the 48-hour course and before you apply. Licensing exam: Both portions of the Missouri salesperson examination. Your licensing authority is the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

Requirements

Requirements for the Missouri salesperson license

Data
Missouri real estate license requirements (Missouri Real Estate Commission)
RequirementMissouri
Minimum ageAt least 18.
Pre-licensing education72 hours in all: the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course (finished on or before the exam date) and the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice course (MREP), taken after the 48-hour course and before you apply.
Post-licensing educationNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
Licensing examBoth portions of the Missouri salesperson examination.
Background checkFingerprints through the statewide vendor (IDEMIA/IdentoGO, registered through MACHS) for a Missouri and federal criminal history check, before you apply.
Sponsoring brokerNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
State feesNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
License termLicenses run in renewal periods; the current one is 2026-2028, with salesperson licenses renewed by September 30, 2026.
Continuing education12 hours per renewal period, at least 3 of them in the Commission's core course; for 2026-2028 the core course is Fair Housing.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.

Steps

How to get licensed in Missouri

Data
  1. Register with MACHS and get fingerprinted through IDEMIA (IdentoGO) before you apply.
  2. Complete the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course at an accredited Missouri school.
  3. Pass both portions of the salesperson exam, and complete the 24-hour MREP course.
  4. Submit the complete license application within six months of finishing the 48-hour course.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I get a real estate license in Missouri?
To get a real estate license in Missouri (the salesperson license): Minimum age: At least 18. Pre-licensing education: 72 hours in all: the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course (finished on or before the exam date) and the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice course (MREP), taken after the 48-hour course and before you apply. Licensing exam: Both portions of the Missouri salesperson examination. Your licensing authority is the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Missouri require?
72 hours in all: the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course (finished on or before the exam date) and the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice course (MREP), taken after the 48-hour course and before you apply.
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Missouri?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
How long is a Missouri real estate license good for?
Licenses run in renewal periods; the current one is 2026-2028, with salesperson licenses renewed by September 30, 2026.
How much does a Missouri real estate license cost?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
Method

How this page is built

Each fact on this page comes from the Missouri Real Estate Commission, read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Missouri Real Estate Commission's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
  • Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
  • This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
Sources
  1. Missouri Real Estate Commission, Examination and Licensure Eligibility Requirements, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. Missouri Real Estate Commission, 2026-2028 Renewal Information, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.