Maryland real estate license: the official requirements
Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Maryland Real Estate Commission.
To get a real estate license in Maryland (the salesperson license): Pre-licensing education: The 60-hour pre-licensing course with an approved education provider. Licensing exam: A two-part exam (national and state portions) given by PSI; pass each portion with at least 70%, and apply within one year of passing. Sponsoring broker: To be active right away you must immediately affiliate with a broker; an original license placed on inactive status gives you three years to affiliate. Your licensing authority is the Maryland Real Estate Commission.
Requirements for the Maryland salesperson license
| Requirement | Maryland |
|---|---|
| Minimum age | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Maryland Real Estate Commission. |
| Pre-licensing education | The 60-hour pre-licensing course with an approved education provider. |
| Post-licensing education | No post-licensing education: the Commission says Maryland does not recognize post-licensing education (a first-renewal continuing education set applies instead). |
| Licensing exam | A two-part exam (national and state portions) given by PSI; pass each portion with at least 70%, and apply within one year of passing. |
| Background check | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Maryland Real Estate Commission. |
| Sponsoring broker | To be active right away you must immediately affiliate with a broker; an original license placed on inactive status gives you three years to affiliate. |
| State fees | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Maryland Real Estate Commission. |
| License term | Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Maryland Real Estate Commission. |
| Continuing education | 15 hours each renewal. If you were first licensed on or after October 1, 2023, your first renewal needs a set 15 hours (including 3 hours of Contracts); later renewals include Legal and Legislative Update, Fair Housing, Ethics and Brokerage Relationships hours. |
Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
How to get licensed in Maryland
- Take the 60-hour pre-licensing course with an approved education provider.
- Schedule the exam through PSI.
- Pass both portions (national and state); within 5-7 business days you get an email with your registration number and the steps to apply online.
- Apply for the license within one year of the exam, and affiliate with a broker to be active.
Go further
Requirements state by state.
Open →CareerHow to become a real estate agentThe career path, nationally.
Open →PayReal estate agent salary in MarylandWhat agents earn there.
Open →CareerReal estate agent career guideThe job, skills and outlook.
Open →CareerReal estate brokerThe next license up.
Open →CompareAgent vs brokerHow the two roles differ.
Open →Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.
Questions people ask
How do I get a real estate license in Maryland?
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Maryland require?
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Maryland?
How long is a Maryland real estate license good for?
How much does a Maryland real estate license cost?
How this page is built
Each fact on this page comes from the Maryland Real Estate Commission, read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Maryland Real Estate Commission's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).
- Not legal advice.
- Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
- Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
- This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
- Maryland Real Estate Commission, Licensing Frequently Asked Questions, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
- Maryland Real Estate Commission, Taking the Exam, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
- Maryland Real Estate Commission, Continuing Education Requirements (new, effective October 1, 2025), official source, read Nov 5, 2026.