Skip to content
TryHired.
Real estate license · Arizona

Arizona real estate license: the official requirements

Age, pre-licensing hours, the exam, background check, broker sponsorship, fees and renewal, from the Arizona Revised Statutes (Arizona Legislature) (the state's own statute and rules).

Updated Nov 6, 2026 · Requirements: each state's real estate licensing authority or its statute
Quick answer

To get a real estate license in Arizona (the salesperson license): Minimum age: At least 18 before you receive a license. Pre-licensing education: A commissioner-approved salesperson course of at least 90 classroom hours (or the equivalent) at a certified real estate school, with an in-person proctored course exam; completed within ten years before you apply. Out-of-state licensees may be excused from all but the 27-hour Arizona-specific course. Licensing exam: A state licensing examination set by the commissioner (written, electronic or another method). Your licensing authority is the Arizona Department of Real Estate.

Requirements

Requirements for the Arizona salesperson license

Data
Arizona real estate license requirements (Arizona Department of Real Estate)
RequirementArizona
Minimum ageAt least 18 before you receive a license.
Pre-licensing educationA commissioner-approved salesperson course of at least 90 classroom hours (or the equivalent) at a certified real estate school, with an in-person proctored course exam; completed within ten years before you apply. Out-of-state licensees may be excused from all but the 27-hour Arizona-specific course.
Post-licensing educationNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
Licensing examA state licensing examination set by the commissioner (written, electronic or another method).
Background checkA valid Arizona fingerprint clearance card, which you provide to the Department; no original license is issued before it is received. The application also asks about felony convictions.
Sponsoring brokerNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
State feesNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
License termNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
Continuing education24 credit hours of commissioner-approved continuing education in each 24-month licensing period, to renew.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.

Steps

How to get licensed in Arizona

Data
  1. Complete the 90-hour salesperson course at a certified real estate school and pass its proctored course exam in person.
  2. Pass the state licensing examination.
  3. Obtain a valid fingerprint clearance card and provide it to the Department.
  4. Apply to the Arizona Department of Real Estate, in writing or electronically, with all applicable fees, within ten years of finishing the course; you must be 18 before the license is issued.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I get a real estate license in Arizona?
To get a real estate license in Arizona (the salesperson license): Minimum age: At least 18 before you receive a license. Pre-licensing education: A commissioner-approved salesperson course of at least 90 classroom hours (or the equivalent) at a certified real estate school, with an in-person proctored course exam; completed within ten years before you apply. Out-of-state licensees may be excused from all but the 27-hour Arizona-specific course. Licensing exam: A state licensing examination set by the commissioner (written, electronic or another method). Your licensing authority is the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
How many hours of pre-licensing education does Arizona require?
A commissioner-approved salesperson course of at least 90 classroom hours (or the equivalent) at a certified real estate school, with an in-person proctored course exam; completed within ten years before you apply. Out-of-state licensees may be excused from all but the 27-hour Arizona-specific course.
Do I need a sponsoring broker in Arizona?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
How long is a Arizona real estate license good for?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
How much does a Arizona real estate license cost?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
Method

How this page is built

Each fact on this page comes from the Arizona Revised Statutes (Arizona Legislature) (sources named below), read on the dates shown, with the exact wording we relied on kept on file. Requirements and fees change; the Arizona Department of Real Estate's current instructions govern. We re-read each state's sources every six months (next review by May 6, 2027).

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Licensing rules can change. Verify current requirements with the issuing agency.
  • Fees shown are the licensing authority's own. Fees charged by exam vendors, schools and course providers, and fingerprint vendors are not included.
  • This page covers the entry-level license. Broker, nonresident and reciprocal licenses have their own rules.
Sources
  1. Arizona Revised Statutes 32-2124, Qualifications of licensees, Arizona Legislature, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. Arizona Revised Statutes 32-2130, Renewal of licenses; education requirements, Arizona Legislature, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  3. Arizona Revised Statutes 32-2108.01, License applicants; fingerprint clearance cards, Arizona Legislature, official source, read Nov 6, 2026.
  4. Arizona Revised Statutes 32-2123, Application for license as broker or salesperson, Arizona Legislature, official source, read Nov 6, 2026.