Skip to content
TryHired.
Notary public · West Virginia

How to become a notary in West Virginia: the official requirements

Who can apply, the training, bond and term, and the steps, from the West Virginia Secretary of State's own published requirements.

Updated Nov 5, 2026 · Requirements: each state's notary authority or statute
Quick answer

To become a notary public in West Virginia: Who can apply: At least 18; a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; a West Virginia resident, or a resident of another state who works at an office address in West Virginia; able to read and write English; a high school diploma or equivalent; not disqualified under West Virginia Code 39-4-21. Bond: No bond is required: the revised notary law eliminated the $1,000 bond requirement. Commission term: Five years. Commissions are issued by the West Virginia Secretary of State.

Requirements

Notary requirements in West Virginia

Data
West Virginia notary public requirements (West Virginia Secretary of State)
RequirementWest Virginia
Who can applyAt least 18; a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; a West Virginia resident, or a resident of another state who works at an office address in West Virginia; able to read and write English; a high school diploma or equivalent; not disqualified under West Virginia Code 39-4-21.
TrainingNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the West Virginia Secretary of State.
ExamNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the West Virginia Secretary of State.
BondNo bond is required: the revised notary law eliminated the $1,000 bond requirement.
Commission termFive years.
State feeA $52 filing fee.
Background checkNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the West Virginia Secretary of State.
Oath and filingNo separate oath of office: on the application you swear or affirm, under penalty of perjury, that your answers are true and that you will perform notarial acts faithfully.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing.

Steps

How to apply in West Virginia

Data
  1. Read West Virginia's Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts (Code 39-4).
  2. Complete the application online and pay the $52 filing fee.
  3. Receive your commission letter and check the information for your seal.
  4. Order your rubber stamp seal with the exact information from the letter.
  5. Receive your commission certificate and notary handbook; you may then begin notarizing.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I become a notary in West Virginia?
To become a notary public in West Virginia: Who can apply: At least 18; a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; a West Virginia resident, or a resident of another state who works at an office address in West Virginia; able to read and write English; a high school diploma or equivalent; not disqualified under West Virginia Code 39-4-21. Bond: No bond is required: the revised notary law eliminated the $1,000 bond requirement. Commission term: Five years. Commissions are issued by the West Virginia Secretary of State.
How long is a notary commission in West Virginia?
Five years.
Do I need a bond to be a notary in West Virginia?
No bond is required: the revised notary law eliminated the $1,000 bond requirement.
Is training required to become a notary in West Virginia?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the West Virginia Secretary of State.
Method

How this page is built

Every requirement on this page comes from the West Virginia Secretary of State's own published material, read on the dates shown. Requirements and fees change; the authority's current instructions govern.

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Fees charged by bonding agencies, course providers and fingerprint vendors are not included.
Sources
  1. West Virginia Secretary of State, Applying for a Notary Public Commission, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.