Skip to content
TryHired.
Notary public · Georgia

How to become a notary in Georgia: the official requirements

Who can apply, the training, bond and term, and the steps, from the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority's own published requirements.

Updated Nov 5, 2026 · Requirements: each state's notary authority or statute
Quick answer

To become a notary public in Georgia: Who can apply: At least 18, a U.S. citizen or legal resident of the United States, and a legal resident of the county where you apply (residents of bordering states who work or do business in that Georgia county may also apply); able to read and write English, with an operating telephone number. Training: Complete the notary training course approved by the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority. Bond: No bond is required. Commission term: Four years, issued by the Clerk of Superior Court in your county of residence. Commissions are issued by the Clerk of Superior Court in your county.

Requirements

Notary requirements in Georgia

Data
Georgia notary public requirements (Clerk of Superior Court in your county)
RequirementGeorgia
Who can applyAt least 18, a U.S. citizen or legal resident of the United States, and a legal resident of the county where you apply (residents of bordering states who work or do business in that Georgia county may also apply); able to read and write English, with an operating telephone number.
TrainingComplete the notary training course approved by the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority.
ExamNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Clerk of Superior Court in your county.
BondNo bond is required.
Commission termFour years, issued by the Clerk of Superior Court in your county of residence.
State fee$40.00 to $55.00, depending on the county.
Background checkNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the Clerk of Superior Court in your county.
Oath and filingTake the oath of office at the Clerk of Superior Court when you pay the application fee.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing.

Steps

How to apply in Georgia

Data
  1. Complete the notary training course and print the certificate of completion.
  2. Complete a notary application and bring it, with the certificate, to the Clerk of Superior Court in your county of residence.
  3. Pay the application fee and take the oath of office.
  4. The clerk's office issues your notary certificate of appointment.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I become a notary in Georgia?
To become a notary public in Georgia: Who can apply: At least 18, a U.S. citizen or legal resident of the United States, and a legal resident of the county where you apply (residents of bordering states who work or do business in that Georgia county may also apply); able to read and write English, with an operating telephone number. Training: Complete the notary training course approved by the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority. Bond: No bond is required. Commission term: Four years, issued by the Clerk of Superior Court in your county of residence. Commissions are issued by the Clerk of Superior Court in your county.
How long is a notary commission in Georgia?
Four years, issued by the Clerk of Superior Court in your county of residence.
Do I need a bond to be a notary in Georgia?
No bond is required.
Is training required to become a notary in Georgia?
Complete the notary training course approved by the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority.
Method

How this page is built

Every requirement on this page comes from the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority's own published material, read on the dates shown. Requirements and fees change; the authority's current instructions govern.

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Fees charged by bonding agencies, course providers and fingerprint vendors are not included.
Sources
  1. Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority, General Notary Information, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority, Notary Public Education Rules, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.