Skip to content
TryHired.
Notary public · DC

How to become a notary in DC: the official requirements

Who can apply, the training, bond and term, and the steps, from the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications's own published requirements.

Updated Nov 5, 2026 · Requirements: each state's notary authority or statute
Quick answer

To become a notary public in DC: Who can apply: At least 18; a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; living or working in the District of Columbia with a verifiable physical DC address (for a business or government commission, a primary place of business or employment in DC). Training: Complete the New Notary Orientation (new applicants, or if your commission expired more than 12 months ago). Bond: A surety bond, except for commissions only on behalf of the DC government. Commissions are issued by the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.

Requirements

Notary requirements in DC

Data
DC notary public requirements (DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications)
RequirementDC
Who can applyAt least 18; a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; living or working in the District of Columbia with a verifiable physical DC address (for a business or government commission, a primary place of business or employment in DC).
TrainingComplete the New Notary Orientation (new applicants, or if your commission expired more than 12 months ago).
ExamNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.
BondA surety bond, except for commissions only on behalf of the DC government.
Commission termNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.
State feeA $75 application fee.
Background checkNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.
Oath and filingNot stated in the official source we read. Check with the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.

Where the official source we read does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing.

Steps

How to apply in DC

Data
  1. Submit the online DC Notary Application.
  2. Provide a letter of request stating how or why you will provide notarial services.
  3. Pay the $75 application fee.
  4. After approval and payment, attend the next New Notary Orientation.
  5. When the Provisional Commission Notice arrives, buy your supplies and surety bond and complete the commission before the window closes, 60 days from the provisional start date.
Next

Go further

Disclosure: TryHired makes HIRED, a paid job-search program, so we have a conflict of interest when we mention it. Everything on this page is free to use without buying anything.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How do I become a notary in DC?
To become a notary public in DC: Who can apply: At least 18; a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; living or working in the District of Columbia with a verifiable physical DC address (for a business or government commission, a primary place of business or employment in DC). Training: Complete the New Notary Orientation (new applicants, or if your commission expired more than 12 months ago). Bond: A surety bond, except for commissions only on behalf of the DC government. Commissions are issued by the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.
How long is a notary commission in DC?
Not stated in the official source we read. Check with the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications.
Do I need a bond to be a notary in DC?
A surety bond, except for commissions only on behalf of the DC government.
Is training required to become a notary in DC?
Complete the New Notary Orientation (new applicants, or if your commission expired more than 12 months ago).
Method

How this page is built

Every requirement on this page comes from the DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications's own published material, read on the dates shown. Requirements and fees change; the authority's current instructions govern.

What this page can't tell you
  • Not legal advice.
  • Fees charged by bonding agencies, course providers and fingerprint vendors are not included.
Sources
  1. DC Office of the Secretary, Notary Commissions, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.
  2. DC Office of the Secretary, Frequently Asked Questions: Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications, official source, read Nov 5, 2026.